The American Heart Association’s Hamptons Heart Ball held Saturday  evening at the Southampton Arts Center in Southampton and was attended by 500 people raising over $700,000 to benefit the lifesaving work of the American Heart Association. 


This year, the Hamptons Heart Ball honored John M. Crean, MD, Nuclear CardiologyEast End Cardiology/NYU/Winthrop and Mark Saporita, MD, FACC, Cardiology and Internal Medicine, East End Cardiology/NYU/Winthrop with the Distinguished Service Award. Toby & Larry Milstein received the Humanitarians With Heart Award. The 2019 Hamptons Heart Ball was chaired by Meredith Cohen and Jason S. Chinitz, MD, FACC, FHRSDirector, Cardiac Electrophysiology, Southside Hospital, Bay Shore, NY, Associate Professor of Cardiology, Sucker School of Medicine at Hofstra/Northwell.

Entertaining the guests was Master of Ceremonies Baruch Shemtov from Good Day New York.  Karen & John Acompora shared their story of losing their son Louis at just 14 from a condition known as commotio cordis, which resulted from a blow to his chest while playing lacrosse during his first high school game. He was only 14 years old. They conducted the Open Your Heart special appeal along with Erin Ward from Inspiring Hearts.

The Hamptons Heart Ball is a fun and elegant event focused on raising funds for the mission of the American Heart Association. Friends and colleagues from NYC, Long Island and the Hamptons enjoyed the beautiful setting of the Hamptons while eating delicious heart healthy foods, drinking delightful local wines and having fun with the music and dancing. The evening featured live music by In The Groove, cocktail hour, a seated dinner catered by Elegant Affairs as well as a live & silent auction.

Also in attendance were;  American Heart Association Regional Director, Barbara Poliwoda, Jean & Martin Shafiroff, Leticia Nevarez, Ana Stone, Scott Stone, Lucia Hwong Gordon, Randi Schatz, John & Terry Tortorella, Jill Kandell, Victor deSouza, Aleksandra Kardwell, Regina Kravitz, Wynne Nowland, Leticia Nevarez, Ana Stone and Scott Stone.


For more information or to get involved in next year’s event, please visit

Photos by Katlean DeMonchy